Election Fee orders repoll in six polling stations in Tripura


The Election Fee on Friday directed the Tripura Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) to conduct a repoll in six polling stations on Monday, an official mentioned.

One polling station falls in Dhanpur phase, from the place Chief Minister and CPI-M politburo member Manik Sarkar is contesting.

Whereas the ruling Communist Get together of India-Marxist criticised the Election Division officers for “felony negligence” in performing polling duties on February 18, the Congress flayed them for enjoying a “biased function” and criticised each the Election Fee and the state election equipment.

“The Election Fee has requested the CEO to conduct repoll in six polling stations in six Meeting constituencies throughout Tripura on February 26,” an official of the Tripura Election Division mentioned.

The official mentioned the EC additionally issued orders concerning VVPATs (Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trails) of seven polling stations in seven Meeting constituencies since their respective Presiding Officers didn’t allegedly get clearance from EVM (Digital Voting Machines) management models of the votes forged throughout the obligatory mock ballot earlier than the beginning of precise polling.

The Election Fee mentioned in 4 polling stations in 4 Meeting seats, the whole variety of electors didn’t tally with the whole variety of votes recorded.

“The Election Fee has additionally requested the Returning Officers of those 4 Meeting constituencies to not declare outcomes with out prior permission, if the successful margin is one vote,” the official added.

The CPI-M Tripura State Secretary Bijan Dhar criticised the Election Division for what he known as “felony negligence” concerning polling in 59 of the 60 Meeting seats.

“Because of technical issues in EVMs-VVPATs the voters suffered inordinate delay in casting their ballots until February 18 midnight. This occurred due to incompetence and apathy of the election officers,” Dhar mentioned in a media assertion.

Chief Electoral Officer Sriram Taranikanti earlier mentioned that 191 (6 per cent) VVPATs and 89 (5 per cent) EVMs malfunctioned throughout the state.

Dhar mentioned technical glitches in EVMs-VVPATs have been reported from round 520 polling stations and demanded a probe.

Tripura Pradesh Congress Vice-President Tapas Dey, with out naming the Bharatiya Janata Get together (BJP), mentioned officers of the Election Fee and the Election Division have been biased in favour of a specific occasion.

Over 92 per cent of Tripura’s 2,536,589 voters forged their votes in Sunday’s peaceable elections in 59 of the 60 Meeting seats, setting a brand new document within the electoral historical past of India.

Within the 2013 and 2008 Meeting polls, Tripura registered 92 per cent and 91 per cent voting respectively.

Get Latest news and Trending, Tech news, Entertainment News Sports News. Stay updated with us for all breaking news from NowPs Tech and more news in English. Like and Follow on Facebook and Instagram or simply download our Android App